This is the sixth edition of Breeders’ Cup “what if” dream races, as researched and prepared by Patrick M. Premo. Patrick is an avid racing fan with a special interest in the history of the sport. In his former day job, Patrick spent 37 years as an accounting professor at St. Bonaventure University–a fine school academically, south of Buffalo, New York near the Pennsylvania border–before retiring three years ago.

Patrick has selected 20 horses per Breeders’ Cup race and has used the rule that no horse can be entered in more than one race (Secretariat, for instance, would be in the Breeders’ Cup Classic rather than the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile, even though he was American Horse of the Year as both a 2-year-old and 3-year-0ld). Other than that, any racehorse in history could qualify and the objective is to seed the field with the best 20 horses that meet the conditions. Each entrant selected is listed by the year that he or she was foaled and in what nation he/she did most of its racing.

Today’s races are heat races, the Steeplechase and the Marathon.

Steeplechase, turf

1884 Redleap AUS
1888 Manifesto ENG
1900 Good And Plenty USA
1920 Easter Hero ENG
1921 Mosstrooper AUS
1922 Jolly Roger USA
1927 Golden Miller ENG
1930 Bushranger USA
1950 Neji USA
1957 Arkle IRE
1957 Jay Trump USA
1959 Flyingbolt IRE
1963 Persian War ENG
1971 Night Nurse ENG
1976 Zaccio USA
1979 Flatterer USA
1980 Desert Orchid ENG
1988 Lonesome Glory USA
1995 Best Mate ENG
1997 McDynamo USA

Heat Race, turf

1715 Flying Childers ENG
1745 Selima (filly) ENG
1748 Matchem ENG
1758 Herod ENG
1759 Selim USA
1764 Eclipse ENG
1774 Highflyer ENG
1781 Rockingham ENG
1783 Meteor ENG
1787 Master Bagot IRE
1792 Hambletonian ENG
1798 Bond’s First Consul USA
1805 Sir Archy USA
1814 American Eclipse USA
1816 Rattler USA
1833 Boston USA
1837 Fashion (filly) USA
1839 Peytona (filly) USA
1850 Lexington USA
1855 Planet USA

Marathon, dirt

1861 Asteroid USA
1872 Ten Broeck USA
1877 Luke Blackburn USA
1880 Leonatus USA
1884 Hanover USA
1915 Exterminator USA
1927 Gallant Fox USA
1928 Twenty Grand USA
1932 Omaha USA
1933 Seabiscuit USA
1938 Whirlaway USA
1941 Stymie USA
1952 Nashua USA
1954 Gallant Man USA
1957 Kelso USA
1966 Arts And Letters USA
1970 Forego USA
1985 Risen Star USA
1986 Easy Goer USA
1998 Point Given USA

Next week’s races will be the Breeders’ Cup Turf and the Breeders’ Cup Classic

Copyright © 2011 Horse Racing Business