This is the fifth edition of Breeders’ Cup “what if” dream races, as researched and prepared by Patrick M. Premo. Patrick is an avid racing fan with a special interest in the history of the sport. In his former day job, Patrick spent 37 years as an accounting professor at St. Bonaventure University–a fine school academically, south of Buffalo, New York near the Pennsylvania border–before retiring three years ago.

Patrick has selected 20 horses per Breeders’ Cup race and has used the rule that no horse can be entered in more than one race (Secretariat, for instance, would be in the Breeders’ Cup Classic rather than the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile, even though he was American Horse of the Year as both a 2-year-old and 3-year-0ld). Other than that, any racehorse in history could qualify and the objective is to seed the field with the best 20 horses that meet the conditions. Each entrant selected is listed by the year that he or she was foaled and in what nation he/she did most of its racing.

Today’s races are the Ladies’ Classic and the Filly & Mare Turf

Ladies’ Classic (formerly the Distaff), dirt or synthetic

1880 Miss Woodford USA
1894 Imp USA
1901 Beldame USA
1912 Regret USA
1921 Princess Doreen USA
1941 Twilight Tear USA
1942 Busher USA
1942 Gallorette USA
1949 Real Delight USA
1965 Dark Mirage USA
1972 Ruffian USA
1977 Genuine Risk USA
1980 Princess Rooney USA
1982 Lady’s Secret USA
1984 Bayakoa USA
1984 Personal Ensign USA
1987 Go for Wand USA
1991 Inside Information USA
1998 Azeri USA
2004 Zenyatta USA

Filly & Mare, Turf

1851 Virago ENG
1865 Formosa ENG
1874 Kincsem HUN
1881 Andreina ITA
1889 LaFleche ENG
1898 Wakeful AUS
1899 Sceptre ENG
1901 Pretty Polly ENG
1912 Desert Gold NZL
1970 Allez France FRA
1970 Dahlia FRA
1978 April Run USA
1979 All Along FRA
1981 Pebbles ENG
1983 Horlicks AUS
1998 Ipi Tombe SAF
2001 Ouija Board ENG
2002 Cesario JPN
2005 Zarkava FRA

Next week’s races will be heat races, the Steeplechase, and the Marathon

Copyright © 2010 Horse Racing Business